Anyone use General Music GEM products? I Need a Battery Replacement...

Reaction score
What up musicians!
My name is Mike, and this is my first post on this forum. Thanks for having it as a resource. I hope you can help me out.

I have a General Music GEM Gemysys Digital Piano and I cannot figure out where the battery is packaged.

I am an electrical engineer and should be able to recognize where it could be, but I'm failing miserably.

The company's website is bunk, and the technical manual only references the 'battery completely discharged' issue - not how to fix it.

It's a pain in the ass to wait for the OS to load every shutdown cycle, when I should be jamming.

Anyone have any experience with these machines?

Thanks,
Mike

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
No sign of a CR2042? No sign of any mysterious little black plastic boxes that could be battery holders?

Most likely place to look would be around the power supply or around the SRAM chips.

What does a DVOM say when you poke around the unpowered board? Any signs of residual voltage if the battery's not totally gone yet?

Gary

Last edited:

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
One other thought. Possibly located in a holder off the main board squirreled away in the chassis somewhere? Possibly behind a quick access panel?

Gary

Reaction score
I've seen older electronics with batteries that look like a capacitor before, and I think (not certain) that since about 2010 there's a battery(?) called a supercapacitor. Maybe your board has something similar; really reaching here I know, but Gary's pretty much covered all the other bases, and I know zero about the particular keyboard you're addressing.

Jim

Reaction score
I have the Equinox, 88 and 76 key. From the playing position the battery is located on the right side of the keyboard on the back wall. It looks like a barrel, like a miniature 55 gallon drum. I have an old one and can send you a picture if you'd like.