Can someone help me on setting up a keyboard with the computer?

Reaction score
Hey

I've been playing for around 2 years. I own a yamaha PSR e3o3. I'm thinking of plugging my keyboard to a computer and playing it through a software.I heard that you can do a lot of new things from a software. The problem is I really don't know where to start from. Can someone please explain how MIDI works? What gadgets, cables etc. do I need?? Also, please recommend a software that is easy to use. A software that will help me to start. Any help will be appreciated. Thank you !

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
First of all what sorts of I/O ports does your Yamaha have? I can't recommend cables unless I know what sort of ports are available.

Specifically what sort of line out jacks does it have and what sort of MIDI or USB ports?

Gary

Reaction score

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
The PSR-E303 has MIDI ports, so you'll need a MIDI-to-USB cable or adapter to connect to a desktop, laptop, or tablet computer to transmit MIDI data, and/or a 3.5-to-6.35mm audio cable or adapter to transmit audio. (MIDI doesn't let you capture the actual sounds coming from the keyboard, so if you want to record the keyboard's actual sounds then you'll need an audio cable.)