I have two simple question about intervals.

Reaction score
I'm just learning the piano. I'm using a couple free online sites. I was instructed to find sheet music from easy beginner songs and practice. I did. Twinkle Twinkle was the first. Then old McDonald. I came upon IF Your Happy and You Know It next. It has intervals I hadn't been taught intervals. I'm using flash cards to learn the different notes. There are intervals on the flash cards. That's how I figured out what they're called. I searched the internet for info. This is what I found.
If the notes are on top of each other they are played at the same time. For example: an interval of the notes A and D in the treble clef would be played at the same instant. TOGETHER.
HERE'S MY QUESTION: If the notes of the interval are in front and behind, not on top of each other. How are those intervals played. There are intervals like that in the If Your Happy song. I couldn't find them talked about any where on the net.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
A better way to say it is that either the notes are attached to the same stem (vertical line) or their stems are lined up with each other vertically (if the music is written on two or more staffs, or if they're very far apart on the same staff). Usually the actual notes (ovals) are drawn to the left of the stem if the stem goes upward from the note, or to the right of the stem if the stem goes downward. There's no difference in the note according to whether the stem goes up or down; it's just to help keep things tidier on the staff, so notes below the middle line of the staff usually have stems that go up, and notes above the middle line usually have stems that go down.