Keyboard that can do a lot

Reaction score
Hi I'm Luke and very new at this. I've been playing piano for a couple months and I'm moving into a dorm pretty soon so I can't take my piano with me. I'm looking for a keyboard that can pretty much do it all. My favorite bands are Led Zeppelin and the Beatles so I want to play things that John Paul Jones played. But I also love classical piano and want to play stuff like Chopin (hopefully) Mozart and Beethoven. I'm thinking it's going to need to have 88 keys but I do kind of have a tight budget of about $500. If you can help me with any ideas that would be wonderful! Thank you so much!

Reaction score
Keyboard that can "do it all" with 88 keys = about $4K over your budget.

What does "do it all" mean to you? My definition may be different to yours.

Are you prepared to compromise on number of keys?

This might help get things closer to your $500 price range. And you'll definitely have to forgo a new keyboard in favour of second hand as Gary has suggested.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I know of someone on another forum site who just sold her acoustic piano and PSR-E433, and bought a used DGX-640 (which has 88 keys) to replace them both. She's happy with it. If you can find a used DGX-640 on your local Craigslist, I think it should be within the price range you're hoping for, and it has a wide variety of voices.

Reaction score
I really just want something I can play Led Zeppelin tunes like "All My Love" and "Trampled Under Foot" and classical pieces on. I read that if I wanted to play classical I would be better off with 88 keys, but I'd be willing to go a little less.

The 500 budget is because it's a christmas/birthday present and my parents would be buying it for me. But I really want a good keyboard so I could throw a couple hundred at it if necessary.

I did see a Kurzweil K2500 on Craigslist for 400. I know it doesn't have speakers but that's alright with me. What are your opinions on that?