New tricks

Reaction score
Hi Forum! Greeting from New Zealand!

So..... I am a sax player! Not a terribly good one. My job is such that I spend a lot of time in places it is impractical to take an expensive musical instrument ( I take a harmonica to keep my lungs in shape... I'm not very good at that either!), and so progress can be slow!

Anyway I have been playing for a few years and now am looking to really get to know some of the music I love listening to, mainly jazz and blues. I made the realisation not so long ago that after practicing for an hour is so, my singing and pitch control improved noticeably ( One minor reason I picked the sax was because I naively thought it did not matter that I could not sing a single note right), and have since found that by practicing singing, or at least warming up like a singer, before paying sax allows me to articulate and voice notes much better....

So what has this to do with keyboards.... Well... Theory is hard for me. I am really trying to get stuck into learning jazz theory ( before the whole business about improvisation etc), and at the same time, get some recordings done on logic X ( which I am simultaneously learning with more in depth music theory)

Everything I read seems to point to having some sort of aptitude with a piano or keyboard, if not just for playing, at least for learning and phrasing and for helping out with the horn.

So here am. A complete noob to buying and playing a keyboard, but hoping to get advice on which models to look at, how to go about setting it up with Logics midi, and any pointers on resources for jazz theory. In return I hope to be able to contribute at least something, if not actual knowledge in the subject, then at least my own experiences which up until this point have been mostly trial and error!

I look forward to being part of the community!

Dan

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Hi Dan,