NPV60 or DGX230/YPG235?

egs

Reaction score
Hello there,

I am a complete novice to playing keyboard/piano and I am now looking to buy a keyboard that I can use to learn how to play the piano (does this make sense?). Anyway, I am looking for a keyboard with a great piano-sound and some nice features like Yamaha Education Suite and USB-interface. I don't care much about tons of added sounds and rythms.

I have narrowed my choice, based on a tight budget, to the quite acclaimed Yamaha DGX230/YPG235 ('known quality, a lot of options, but older model) or the NPV60 (new model, supposedly great piano sound, sufficient (?) options, but no reviews to be found yet).

So my questions:
-Which keyboard would suit my whishes better?
-Does anyone already have some experience with the NP-V60 or -V80?
-Or should I be looking for a different keyboard alltogether?

Thank you for your time and response,

Regards,

egs
The Netherlands

Reaction score
I believe the NPV60 has a better piano sound. If you don't mind the plasticky keys - that's your choice.

egs

Reaction score
Wow, your fast and short reply is the most usefull information I got so far :) Thanks!

So the piano sound of the NPV60 is better. But to be sure: are the keys more ' plasticy' then the ones on the DGX230 or, just more 'plasticy' then on a real piano?

I tried comparing the NPV60 and the DGX230 on the Yamaha website and it looks like they are pretty equal in most specs. So better sound would be a good asset to base my decision on :)

Finally, just to be sure. For less money, 200-300 euros, I can find a DGX200 as well as a DGX300 on sites like eBay. I prefer a new one, but if one of this types just happens to be the best keyboard ever, I might reconsider.

Thanks again for bringing me a step further. All that's left now is learn how to play....damn.

Greetings,
egs

Reaction score
It seems that both DGX200 and DGX300 have the same plasticky keys.