Synthesizer Keyboard Recommendations

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I'm new to this forum, and I would like some people's opinions on what type of synthesizer I should buy. I'm looking for a full 88 key model, with a sound bank and preferably some type of MIDI input/output so I can play with it with different software on my laptop. I'm looking for weighted keys as well.
I've been playing piano for 9+ years now, and have never owned my own synth. I am a percussionist at my school, and the synth player for marching band as well as the pianist for Jazz band. I usually play on a Yamaha S90 ES that the school owns, but am looking a little less expensive than that.
Ideas, anyone?
Thanks!

Fred Coulter

Collector of ancient keyboards
Reaction score
The "good" news is that I'm unaware of any 88 key synthesizer which doesn't include MIDI input/output. Additionally, I suspect that there are no 88 note keyboards without weighted keys. What would be the purpose of making a piano sized keyboard without at least attempting to recreate the piano experience. (On the other hand, how successful that attempt is is a different question.)

I've attempted to find the Yamaha S90 ES on the Sweetwater site. I wasn't successful, so I'm not sure what price point you're looking for. I found one "in good condition" for about $1,400, but that may be a used price.

Now for the real questions. What do you imagine the keyboard will do for you? Are you looking primarily for something that sounds like a piano but also includes other useful sounds? Or are you looking for something that will let you create new sounds that no one's ever heard before? Or both? Do you think the keyboard will include onboard speakers or do you plan on buying a keyboard amp, too? Are you at all interested in having it play pre-programmed rhythm tracks? Do you want to create your own accompaniment tracks? Are you looking for a full blown 16 track sequencer?

Reaction score