Voice Processing question

Reaction score
I am presently looking at keyboards like the Yamaha PSR s950 and the Korg PSA900. (Which other models or brands would you suggest I consider?) Much higher priced 'boards are probably not affordable for me. I would classify myself as a beginner, although I have some music background. My question is this: If I use the keyboard's vocal processor, I am concerned that some of the notes I sing into it might be slightly off-key. What feature(s) should I look for to have the keyboard correct this?

What I know: Yamaha made a keyboard years ago that supposedly did this. One reviewer of the Yamaha s950 stated that the "Quantize" feature, deep inside the menus, would take the 1/16-notes played and "even them up" for you -- so I thought perhaps it might fix up vocal pitch as well.

So, which keyboards can correct a vocal input for pitch? Is this a common feature? What is it called?

Another question: If I use an arranger workstation keyboard to put together a song, then edit it, I can then save it as a MIDI file. Can I then come back to that MIDI file later and fully and completely edit the file, or has some of the information the keyboard uses to allow editing been lost?

Thanks. I would like to get up-to-speed with all this stuff. Thanks again!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
First of all, if you save as a MIDI type 1 file you will lose access to all extended voices since MID only allows the basic 128 GM voices. I believe MIDI type 2 allows access to the XG sound set but I've never seen anyone actually use that file format. XG never really caught on in the MIDI community and every manufacturer went their own way when it came to designing voice banks.