a synth for live gigs

Reaction score
Hello everybody. I'm glad I found this place and I dare ask your advice right away.

I am a keyboard newbie. Primarily guitarist but I hit the keys when the song calls for it. I own a Casio XW-P1 and I must admit I have hardly ever found a sound there that I really wanted. I want to replace it but this time I want to buy the right thing.

What I need:
1) cool sounds out of the box, including
- leads like e.g. in intro of Caught in a Web by Dream Theater;
- warm pads and strings like the PadSynth method in ZynAddSubFX can do if anybody knows that;
- big bell sounds like church bells;
- a generally broad palette of (adjustable) sounds;

2) decent sound versatility
- zone splitting;
- sound layering;
- actual waveform parametrization would be nice;
- real-time controls over parameters;

3) controls
- 5+ octaves;
- MIDI;

The device should be live-performance oriented. This means that low weight, durability and battery operation are a plus whereas integrated speakers, hammer mechanics, workstation features etc. less so.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Fred Coulter

Collector of ancient keyboards
Reaction score
I'm assuming that you're in a full band? (With drummer, bass player, etc.?) If so, my first bit of advice is to avoid arranger keyboards. Those are designed for one man bands or for songwriters at home creating reasonable demos. (OK, I've seen them used for duos, too.)

Before going any further, you'll need to let us know what your budget is. The recommendations will be very different if you're dealing with a $500 budget or a $5,000 budget.

Also, what kind of keyboardist are you? What is the role of the keyboard? The more upfront the keyboard will be, the more polyphony it probably needs. The less upfront the keyboard it, the less polyphony. If you're only going to be adding some pads, you may need less than if you're grabbing chords with your left hand while ripping through a nasty lead in your right.