Adjust headphone volume output on Roland FA-08?

Discussion in 'General Keyboard Discussion' started by Ned, Jan 4, 2017.

  1. Ned

    Ned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been looking everywhere but can't find out how to lower the volume of the headphone output on my FA-08.
    I have a pair of studio monitors and headphones connected to the appropriate outputs on my FA-08. However, I only see a master volume knob.
    I would like max volume for my studio monitors but low volume for my headphones. Is there any way to adjust these two settings individually?
     
    Ned, Jan 4, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ned

    CowboyNQ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    427
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    https://static.roland.com/assets/media/pdf/FA-06_08_Reference_e01_W.pdf

    Page 7 of the manual seems to suggest that they're a package deal. I had a quick look to see if you can alter some kind of global parameter to make the headphones volume lower to start with, but if it exists I wasn't able to find it.

    I'm assuming your monitors don't have an individual volume control. The only other thing I can think of is to play through a mixer with a separate send and volume control for main output and phones. Possibly not an additional expense you wish to incur though.

    I must confess I am wondering why you need the monitors blaring loudly if you're using headphones?
     
    CowboyNQ, Jan 4, 2017
    #2
    Fred Coulter and happyrat1 like this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ned

    delaware dave

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    85
    delaware dave, Jan 5, 2017
    #3
  4. Ned

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    1,199
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    Actually, while installing a mixer is the best approach is there any reason why you can't adjust your headphones to a volume you can tolerate and then adjust the monitors to a suitable level independently?

    I'm assuming the monitors have some sort of volume controls built in?

    Otherwise though, if you want to be able to adjust these settings on the fly, you'll have to get a small mixer. Behringer Xenyx 502 is cheap and easy to set up.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Jan 5, 2017
    #4
  5. Ned

    CowboyNQ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    427
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    A theme is emerging...
     
    CowboyNQ, Jan 5, 2017
    #5
  6. Ned

    scullen Converts oxygen into carbon dioxide.

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    North Texas
    scullen, Jan 19, 2017
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Martin Quinn

    Can you adjust Reverb Return pans in SX

    Martin Quinn, Jun 28, 2003, in forum: alt.steinberg.cubase
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    560
    Biggagiggas
    Jul 3, 2003
  2. Brutus

    Master Volume vs. mixer volume

    Brutus, May 14, 2004, in forum: alt.steinberg.cubase
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,613
  3. Craig Steadman

    manually adjust asio latency?

    Craig Steadman, Mar 3, 2007, in forum: alt.steinberg.cubase
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    579
    Craig Steadman
    Mar 5, 2007
  4. Gary

    Auto adjust of MIDI data when changing tempo?

    Gary, Jul 3, 2008, in forum: alt.steinberg.cubase
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    598
  5. maan
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,244
    ootini
    Jul 9, 2012
  6. RSJ

    Output volume

    RSJ, Feb 25, 2014, in forum: General Keyboard Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    363
  7. David H

    How to adjust volume on layered sounds on moxf8

    David H, Jul 23, 2016, in forum: General Keyboard Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    240
    SeaGtGruff
    Jul 24, 2016
  8. John Koop

    Multi track export on Roland FA-06

    John Koop, Sep 17, 2016, in forum: Roland Keyboards
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    449
    happyrat1
    Sep 18, 2016
Loading...