Advice on small monitor setup

Reaction score
I'm looking for advice on how to build a very small listening setup for a couple of keyboards in my living room. I'm totally new to this kind of setup, so apologies/thanks in advance for any advice you can offer on some very basic questions.

Here is the goal I'm aiming for: I have a Sequential Prophet Rev2 and a Rhodes Mark I Stage and I would like to be able to listen to them through a small pair of monitors (such as Presonus Eris 3.5's or 5's or similar). I'm looking for the simplest/smallest/most compact possible connection between those points. I would also like the setup to be flexible/expandable, in the sense that if I were to add a third keyboard at some point I could simply plug it into the appropriate point in this setup and be good to go.

Obviously sound quality is not the top consideration here. I've been listening to the Rev2 exclusively through headphones and the Rhodes through an old bass amp. I would like to eliminate the need for an amp in this space in favor of compactness/simplicity. Just something simple I can listen to quietly in my living room. No gigging/taking out of the house necessary.

Here are my specific questions that I haven't quite been able to get clear on from reading this and other forums:

1. Do I need a small mixing console to sit between the keyboards and the monitors? Or is this something that a smaller audio interface like a Focusrite can do? (I don't need to do any recording and I don't want this setup to require a computer anywhere.)

2. Do I need a DI to sit between the Rhodes and whatever it is running into?

3. Do I need a dedicated preamp for the Rhodes? Or is this something that the right kind of mixing console might provide?

I'd be very grateful for any advice, both on understanding the pieces I'll need to put this together and any specific hardware recommendations. Many thanks!

Reaction score
Welcome.