Advice Sought on Sight Reading Challenges

Reaction score
I've been messing about on a keyboard for about 4 years now and can pretty much pick out a melody with the right hand and play chords with the left and can play a fww songs learned from YouTube tutorials.

More recently I decided to start taking a more structured approach to learning to play "properly" beginning with trying to play from sheet music.

My sight reading is slowly improving, albeit from a very low base, but I'm not sure whether my approach to learning is the best.

For each piece I start by playing it from the sheet music as best I can, which is tortuosly slow, and gradually build up speed as I become more familiar with the music. Once I can play it reasonably well I introduce the rythym on the keyboard and keep practising until I can play along at the stated bpm for the piece.

The upside of this approach is I can eventually play a piece reasonably well. However, the downside is that this isn't helping my sight reading much as it takes a week or two to get up to speed on each piece during which time my memory soon takes over from my eyes and I'm really struggling to not play from memory and just concentrate on the sheet music.

I'm wondering whether I would be better playing a piece as best as I can but as soon as I get to a point where I'm playing from memory just move on to another piece forcing me to focus on the sight reading rather than playing a piece to speed?

In theory as my sight reading improves I should be able to play to speed more quickly anyway which is why I was thinking of changing my approach but at least at the moment I'm getting used to left and right hand fingering so am still making progress.