am i learning songs or learning keyboard ??

Reaction score
let me explain.....
I came across a piano forum and I read a very interesting post around how you learn , it was around two different ways you can learn or find yourself learning
one is where you just practice songs over and over and basically you are just learning hand movements and you practice it that many times it is implanted in your muscle memory that you are just repeating the hand movements

the other is learning a broad range of techniques and positions (hand finger etc) and music theory so that you can pick up any music and play it by sight reading

I guess as a beginner I am in the first category but I am also picking up techniques and I am learning a few techniques cross overs arpeggios scales etc , so in time do the two types of learning become one ?

I am a bit confused as to how I should go am I doing right by just practicing a song over and over until I get it right , notes finger positions etc and does the sight reading get easier as time goes on or is there specific things I should be doing ?

i have ben playing about ten weeks and still enjoying it very much i must admit i do like improvising with the grand piano switched on and improvising and i am learning to get the left hand going together with the right with arpeggios etc and just playing

mark

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Music is not only an art. It is a science as well. Like anything worth studying it's a mixed bag of tricks and techniques and theory that you pick up along the way to becoming a master of the art.

Is woodworking a craft or an art or a science? Depending on how skilled you are you can be classified as an apprentice or a journeyman or a master craftsman or a bona fide artist.

Don't get hung up on labels.

The real joy of learning music is in the journey, not the destination. It's all the discoveries you make about yourself and the tunes along the way that make the trip worthwhile.