Am I nuts to trade in my Kronos for a Fantom?

Reaction score
Hello All,

Seeking some advice and guidance.

My background is that I am a pianist foremost. I did have a rack of synths in the 80s ( dx7 and a Korg dw8000) that I played in a band. Even back then I pretty much just used the existing programs.

With the Kronos, I have used it primarily to compose my own stuff, however I never learned how to use daw, just used the Kronos sequencer. So, my strength is in playing and my weakness is in the technological side. I wish there was some type of class I could take in how to use daw and how to learn all about sound synthesis such as lfos, filters etc (but that’s another subject entirely),

I love the Kronos’ karma application, the combos, as well as the action and the sounds available (it has some amazing piano, organ and electric piano sounds especially).

What appeals to me about the fantom is it’s ease of use (although it will be a new learning curve for me). Also, in general a new keyboard will give me some new “creative juice”.

I know that the Kronos is pretty much a legend among workstations. So am I nuts to consider trading it for a fantom? Really tough decision here.

Just a side note, I went to my local music store where I purchased my Kronos and other previous keyboards. The keyboard guy there is excellent and usually will give me a 20 minute demo. He told me with Christmas coming and the store being crazy he never got around yet to learning the fantom, so he couldn’t give me a demo. I played around a bit but not enough to make a decision.

Thanks everyone!

Reaction score
Yes you are nuts

Yes, the Kronos is the best there is

Yes, to learning a DAW is a nightmare

Yes, Korg’s are a technical difficult instrument to get to grips with

So Yes, you would still be nuts going to buy a Fantom

Did I say Yes?