Any opinions on the Prokeys Sono 88?

Reaction score
Has anyone heard or played one of these? The demo sounds pretty decent for the price range, but there isn't a dealer near me where I can check them out.

Reaction score
Hi there, I recently had to return my faulty Yamaha P70 (88-note piano) to the dealer I got it from and, due to that line being discontinued, opted for the prokeys 88 offered.
This, however, was not in stock so one was ordered especially for me.
On receipt I wished I'd not been so hasty.
I'm assuming this close relative has the same action, so here are my thoughts.

Whilst I would say the sounds are good, but not outstanding, the action
disappointed me. I found it a bit 'clonky', if that makes any sense!

I am a piano tuner-technician by trade, so have experienced literally thousands of (real piano) keyboards over the years and, putting it simply,
it is entirely a matter of personal preference as to which suits you best.

My advice would be DO NOT make any comittment to buy ANY instrument until you have tried it for yourself.
It could be an expensive mistake!

Reaction score
Thanks for the input jpscoey. I agree it is best to play and hear
any instrument before buying. I was wondering if it was worth
trying to find a dealer in another town just to play and hear the Sono.
I think the cost of the Sono might be better applied to buying
a good used Motif ES rack.

Reaction score
Can you clarify what exactly you are wanting from this keyboard?
M-Audio keyboards have traditionally been 'master' keyboards for MIDI control -
it's only recently that they've put 'sounds' into them.
Is it the keyboard alone that you want, or the voice bank?
On either count I would suggest you look elsewhere - the keyboard 'action' is nothing to write home about & the sounds fall well short of other stuff you could buy.
Motif rack is not a bad idea.