Audio record on Casio 7200

Discussion in 'Casio Keyboards' started by Louisa McLeish, Jan 9, 2017.

  1. Louisa McLeish

    Louisa McLeish

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi all,

    I've purchased a Casio CTK 7200 I really like it. I'm new to all this recording stuff, and I'm liking that too! I'm trying to record vocals whilst playing. I've got the mic in correctly but when I play back it's only keys recorded. When I press audio record, an error message "error format" comes up. What does this mean and I'm assuming in need this to record vocals.

    Thanks!
    #NewAtThis
     
    Louisa McLeish, Jan 9, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Louisa McLeish

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    1,693
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    For audio recording you have to use a flash media card to store the song on.

    Also, the card has to be formatted with the onboard formatting utility on your keyboard before it can be used.

    Once you've formatted the card according to the manufacturer's instructions you should be able to record on it.

    I believe the CTK can use SD cards up to 32 Gigabytes in size.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Jan 9, 2017
    #2
    Louisa McLeish likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Louisa McLeish

    Louisa McLeish

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you!

    How do i format it on the keyboard or my laptop?
     
    Louisa McLeish, Jan 9, 2017
    #3
  4. Louisa McLeish

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    1,693
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    Don't format it on your laptop. Format it in the keyboard using the menus.

    I don't have the manual handy so you'll have to look up the section in your Casio Manual describing how to use and format an SD card.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Jan 9, 2017
    #4
  5. Louisa McLeish

    Louisa McLeish

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks! I found it in the manual and tried to format but seems to be an error with my sd card. I stole it out or my camera I've bought a new one. Should be easy enough to do once it gets here. I'll let you know. Thank you so much for your time
     
    Louisa McLeish, Jan 9, 2017
    #5
  6. Louisa McLeish

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    1,693
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    Some SD cards come loaded up with a hidden partition full of crapware that has to be removed first.

    For this you need partitioning software to go in and remove all the partitions including the hidden ones, THEN format the entire card as FAT32, and THEN format the card on the keyboard.

    Sorry to make this difficult for you but blame the manfuacturers for loading up the cards with windows-centric crapware :p

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Jan 9, 2017
    #6
  7. Louisa McLeish

    Louisa McLeish

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2

    Oh dear!! Deep joy! Thanks!
     
    Louisa McLeish, Jan 9, 2017
    #7
  8. Louisa McLeish

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    1,693
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    There are also freeware decrapifier programs available on the web. Some are available directly from the card manufacturers but others are third party adware that I wouldn't trust with a ten foot pole.

    If your card is a Sandisk, then Sandisk does offer a freeware utility on its site that will only work with their cards, but it will clean off the crapware for you.

    Check with other manufacturers if your card is a different brand.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Jan 9, 2017
    #8
  9. Louisa McLeish

    Louisa McLeish

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2

    Yes it's a scandisk! Thanks I'll give it a try! You've been very helpful. Thank you!
     
    Louisa McLeish, Jan 9, 2017
    #9
  10. Louisa McLeish

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    1,693
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    Good to hear.

    Let us know if you get it working alright for you.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Jan 9, 2017
    #10
    Louisa McLeish likes this.
  11. Louisa McLeish

    Louisa McLeish

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sure thing!
     
    Louisa McLeish, Jan 10, 2017
    #11
  12. Louisa McLeish

    Becky Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    388
    Just wanted to say welcome to the forum :)
     
    Becky, Jan 10, 2017
    #12
    Louisa McLeish likes this.
  13. Louisa McLeish

    Louisa McLeish

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you!!
     
    Louisa McLeish, Jan 11, 2017
    #13
  14. Louisa McLeish

    Louisa McLeish

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey Gary,

    I managed to format my new sd card, but vocals are not recording still. I've made sure the microphone is connected correctly at the back...what am I doing wrong? I'm going through the manual, but alas
     
    Louisa McLeish, Jan 18, 2017
    #14
  15. Louisa McLeish

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    1,693
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    Alas I don't own a 7200.

    It may not even be capable of routing microphone audio to the SD card. Check your manual carefully and see if there are any special audio settings in the keyboard for activating microphone input.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Jan 18, 2017
    #15
  16. Louisa McLeish

    Louisa McLeish

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    I did it!!! If there's a will there's a way!
     
    Louisa McLeish, Jan 18, 2017
    #16
    happyrat1 likes this.
  17. Louisa McLeish

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    1,693
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    Please tell us all exactly HOW you did it so the next person with this question won't have to hunt you down.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Jan 18, 2017
    #17
  18. Louisa McLeish

    Louisa McLeish

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok. I pressed audio record, it flashes red, so I press it again (i didn't do this before) and it asked me to overwrite, I hit yes, it asks me to please wait then the audio record went a solid red. Time to record! Thanks for you help...
     
    Louisa McLeish, Jan 18, 2017
    #18
  19. Louisa McLeish

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    1,693
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    You're welcome.

    Hopefully you'll post a few of your tunes some time so we can all enjoy them.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Jan 18, 2017
    #19
    Becky and Louisa McLeish like this.
  20. Louisa McLeish

    Louisa McLeish

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Haha! Maybe
     
    Louisa McLeish, Jan 18, 2017
    #20
    happyrat1 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Doc
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    492
  2. mark vaughan

    casio ctk 7200

    mark vaughan, Oct 20, 2014, in forum: Casio Keyboards
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,251
    mark vaughan
    Oct 24, 2014
  3. Dan Ha

    casio CTK 7200 how to rename a audio recording

    Dan Ha, Nov 1, 2014, in forum: General Keyboard Discussion
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    617
    The Y_man
    Nov 6, 2014
  4. Nam Thanh

    Should I choose Korg Microarranger or Casio CTK-7200?

    Nam Thanh, Dec 3, 2014, in forum: General Keyboard Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    944
    Nam Thanh
    Dec 3, 2014
  5. mark vaughan

    casio ctk 7200 box style keys quality any good ?

    mark vaughan, Dec 8, 2014, in forum: Keyboard Purchase Recommendations
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    679
    mark vaughan
    Dec 8, 2014
  6. Dave Saltmer

    Casio CTK-7200 Drum Maps for Sonar

    Dave Saltmer, Apr 17, 2015, in forum: Casio Keyboards
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    647
    Dave Saltmer
    Apr 17, 2015
  7. Kevin O'Neill

    Casio ctk 7200

    Kevin O'Neill, Jul 8, 2016, in forum: Keyboard Purchase Recommendations
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    517
    Kevin O'Neill
    Jul 11, 2016
Loading...