Begginer: What to choose? - Looking for specific sound

Reaction score
Hello everybody! I'm totally new to keyboards, so I'm joining the forum!. I've taken piano lessons when younger, but I'm now coming back to keyboards many years later, after 4 years of Bass playing.

I am looking for something to start, mainly based on my influences, but knowing almost nothing about equipment. I want something with a Hammond-esque sound or 70's sounding mainly. I would also like good synths, but my main concern is that. Specifically, the one that kills me is Rick Wright's sound in Pink Floyd's Live in Pompeii, on Echoes for example. In particular, and if it is helpful on defining what I need, my influences are Richard Wright, Jon Lord, Rick Wakeman, Herbie Hancock, Chick Corea, and Charly Garcia.

My budget is for something between 300-600 dollars, but if it is really worth i could make it up to 800 or so.

In other matter, I would be thankful for any advice or link which can help me know what I must know when buying a keyboard.

Last edited:

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Last edited:
Reaction score
Last edited:

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
If you're going up to $800 or $900 then others worth considering are the Korg Kross, the Casio Privia PX-5S, the Roland Juno DI, the Yamaha MX61, but none of them can complete your laundry list of requirements.

You'll just have to do your homework, read the specs, watch and listen to the youtubes and audition them in the stores and go with your gut instincts on which one to pull the trigger on.

Gary

Reaction score
Howdy Agustin,