Beginner here

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a beginner and started learning keyboard online in 2016. I've been reading a piano-focused forum for a while, learnt lots, but realized that I'm more interested in pop/rock/band music than classical music. I hope I can learn more here and share some of my findings with other beginners too.
One thing I really liked about the other piano forum was they have a beginner section and also some online recitals, 40 piece a year challenges, etc. I'm wondering if there's something like that here?

Reaction score
Thank you guys.

The "40 piece a year challenge", from what I understand, is participants volunteerily sign on in one dedicated thread at the beginning of the year, comitted to practice 40 piece of piano/keyboard music in the coming yr. It coyld be any level at participants' choice. Participants also need to keep updating the thread with their progress so that everyone is motivated to keep practicing.

Last edited:

Fred Coulter

Collector of ancient keyboards
Reaction score
Welcome to the gang.

We're approaching keyboards from a more catholic viewpoint, at many different levels of ability. So you'll get beginner discussions to more advanced discussions. But I haven't seen any sort of challenges like you mentioned.

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score
, comitted to practice 40 piece of piano/keyboard music in the coming yr. I
. Participants also need to keep updating the thread with their progress so that everyone is motivat
Pianos do not have an electronic link to computers so it would be difficult to show progress unless one "tape recorded" and copied it to youtube (perhaps).
Wow! 40 a year is a massive ask. That is one every 9 days non stop! Too pacey for me.
In your own time! Ray

Reaction score
Booked my first lesson for tomorrow, looking forward to it.

How have you progressed Ralph?
Great Pomster, let us know how your first lesson goes.