Beginner in need of recommendation

Reaction score
To start off, I'm very new to this. I did take 2 years worth of keyboard lessons, but I was about 12 at the time and didn't really have much interest in it. Now I'm 22 and I want to play again.

This time 'round I just want to play for myself. I don't really care about synth, midi, workstations or any of that stuff I've read about on these forums(I did read a bit). My goal is simply to play when I'm not studying and eventually learn to play some songs. Ideally, I would have a piano to play on, but I don't. So I'm gonna go for a keyboard.

Some stuff to keep in mind:
The width of my hand from thumb to pinkie is about 20 cm or 7.9 inches. (I don't know whether that's big or small, but I hope you guys know)
I can spend roughly 300 $ but might stretch as far as 350 depending on your recommendations.
The keyboard must have as many keys(?) as a piano.
Must have a hole for a headset.

Any help at all would be most welcome.

Also, if there are any Norwegians here, any stores I might check out(online)? I think there are only 1 or 2 stores that sell instruments where I live.

Reaction score
I can spend roughly 300 $ but might stretch as far as 350 depending on your recommendations.
The keyboard must have as many keys(?) as a piano.
Must have a hole for a headset.

Have a look at the Yamaha NP-30 if you can live with 76 keys instead of 88.

Reaction score
well a piano has 88 keys... unless you get super fancy but thats another story.

on your budget goz211 is right a np30 will suit you but it doesn't have 88 keys, which as a beginner should not be an issue.

however if you must have 88 keys then you should probably start looking used. maybe a Yamaha YPG535 or dare i say.... a casio.....

i wouldn't normally recommend a casio, ever, unless your a beginner and on a budget.

hope this is helpful!

Reaction score