Beginner Keyboard for Prog Rock Fan

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a complete novice when it comes to keyboards but have always wanted to play. I have some musical experience but with bass and guitar, but no experience with piano/organ except some light noodling.

I'm a big fan of 70s progressive rock like Yes, Pink Floyd, Jethro Tull, and King Crimson as well as more modern stuff like Porcupine Tree and Steven Wilson's solo work so I guess my main priority is great Hammond and Moog-style sounds. Easy editability is also key so I can learn how to program some synth sounds.

I don't really have a preference as far as weighted/semi-weighted/synth-action or keyboard size - I am a total beginner so really anything is fine. I would prefer a hardware option over a MIDI controller and PC setup.

My budget is anything up to about $1500 - used is fine.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Welcome.

You are in good company with Prog Rock, there arequite a few fans of the genre here.

As for keyboards I would suggest you look at the 76 key versions which often have a better keybed than there is in the 61 key version plus having more real estate is better for multiple splits.

Checkout the Yamaha MODX7 which is just over budget.
Korg Nautilus which is way over but work a closer look.
Roland Juno DS 76 is a good $500 under
Roland FA07 at $1700
Korg Krome EX 73 @ $1150

Reaction score
my main priority is great Hammond and Moog-style sounds. Easy editability is also key

Strong Hammond-style organ, Moog-style synth, and easy editability is going to be a tough combination of three things to find.