Beginner keyboard - How many keys?

Reaction score
Hi. So I am thinking about buying my first keyboard (I am an adult and have played what I would say busker guitar on and off for a few years, but I would be a complete beginner on the keys).

My question is. What size keyboard would I ultimately need? I have seen that 49, 61, 72 and 88 seem to be the popular choices.

I believe 88 is considered full size. I would ultimately be trying to play pop and rock kind of music (including music from when the keyboard was most popular - like 80s stuff (haha). Would I get away with a smaller sized keyboard? Is a full size one a bit of overkill or should I go for the 88 keys?

Also, can anyone recommend one? My budget is around 350 UK pounds (400 euros)

Thanks.

Reaction score
Welcome

Korg Ek50 or Yanaha PSR E473, both these are Arranger keyboards with 61 keys. The aim with an Arranger is to play chords with your left and the melody line with your right. There is an Auto Accompaniment that provides the backing inbwhat Style is selected and in the set temp. These Arrangers get you playing recognisable songs pretty quickly. They also can be played in a conventional manner.

or

A Digital Piano, these have 88 piano like hammer action keys and at the budget end of the market a limited set of onboard instrument sounds. A good choice would be a Yamaha P125, Roland FP X30 or a Kawai ES110

or

Korg Kross 2 or Roland Juno DS both are 61 key, synth/workstations.

I suggest researching the above and then decide which initial direction you want to go.

Reaction score
There are a lot of possibilities at lower price points, but sub-$100 is a tough one if you want sliders and knobs as well.
Yes, you are correct; almost everything these days is USB MIDI, thus there is no need to purchase a MIDI interface.
I suppose you should ask yourself a few questions.
How many keys are there? Most boards under $100 have 49 keys. Is that sufficient?