Beginner Progress

Reaction score
Hi'ya guys!

I started to learn keyboard around two weeks ago. I'd never pressed a key let alone owned a keyboard before but keen as mustard has they say!
So my "self taught" progress to date is ..
I now know and can point to a note, a b c, c# db etc
Big problem, was my 3rd and 4th fingers would't' work separately, now they do .... This was bloody frustrating!
I can play in C major using all 10 fingers and go up and down the octaves sight reading albeit just fingering
Learning to read music is coming on but finding it troublesome, quite hard really

So i'm quite happy with the way things are going. I know these are simple things but i think it's going well, though i wish i was more patient.

Anyhow! i'm interested in you advanced and beginners alike, i'd like to know what your progress gains where/are. Did you set yourselves targets? meet them etc? Any learning tips?

Looking forward to some lessons now

Last edited:
Reaction score
Biggest tip I can give you while you're learning is practice often, but not for hours at a time. If you practice for too long it's likely you'll reach a point of fatigue, frustration and diminishing returns.

If you can devote 30 min - 1 hour a day (every day) to practice, you'll slowly and steadily keep improving.

Sight reading is very challenging to start with but, like your playing, it will definitely improve with practice. For me it's one of those "use it or lose it" skills. I used to be a pretty accomplished sight reader in my teens, but I'm terrible now because it's a skill I rarely practice.

The sooner you can start learning some simple tunes, the more you'll enjoy your practice time, as you'll start to like what you hear yourself doing. Practice then becomes its own reward.

Sounds like you've made wonderful progress so far, keep going!

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score