Beginner songwriter keyboard advice needed...

Reaction score
Beginner composer help needed

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner songwriter/singer and I am looking for something that I can l learn on and grow with as well. I want a keyboard that will re-enact the Grand Piano sound, as well as strings, brass, winds, organ, drums, percussion, bass, guitar, synth pads/leads, electro vibes, special effects, etc etc.

The type of music I want to compose is symphonic metal/rock, alternative, classical, gothic/celtic rock and film score-type material. Some examples of bands that will help in deciding a proper answer are Evanescence, Nightwish, Within Temptation, Sirenia, Trans-Siberian orchestra, etc etc. I love the sound of a rock band with an orchestra and choir backing it up, as well as other unique electronic and celtic/folk sounds, sometimes with a dark atmosphere and others as happy and ethereal.

I only want to spend so much on a keyboard and accessories...nothing too expensive nor too cheap in that I may wish I would've purchased something of better quality with more features. I have been to Guitar Center several times, researched tons of YouTube videos and keyboard websites and asked friends and family who have dabbled into music.

Here is a list of models I have already explored...

-Yamaha MM6/MM8

-Yamaha MOX6/MOX8

-Yamaha PSR series

-Yamaha P-95

-Yamaha DGX-640 Portable Grand

-Yamaha YPG-535 Portable Grand

-Yamaha YPT series

-Yamaha NP series

***I am open to other brands like Casio, Roland and Korg, but didn't find Korg and Roland to be very user friendly...any good Casio models out there that don't sound cheap?***

The features I am looking for are...

-Sound quality

-Keybed quality and performance

-Performance features (split, layering, arrpegiators/beats, etc.)

-Recording/composing abilities

-Real-piano sound and feel, if possible.

-Replication of classic, acoustic and electronic instruments and sounds