Beginner's Keyboard Suggestion

Reaction score
I am not sure why, but I feel weird asking for advice since I am a beginner and I am embarrassed - not sure why.
I am in Toronto, and would like to purchase a keyboard that has sounds similar to the Vox Continental Organ/Gibson G101 for sounds similar to the Doors.
My budget is around $250-300 - as I was looking at a used Casio WK-3000 but its hard to find.

My Costco sells these models
Casio WK-245DXAB
Casio LK-265

Thanks for listening - I greatly appreciate it.

Reaction score
Welcome to the wonderful world of music.

No problem asking for advice, we all need it at some stage no matter what our experience is.

Your Vox Continental new is some $2000 Canadian and personally I think that you have zero chance of finding one anywhere near your budget.

Casio make some pretty good keyboards and for $300 you could get a new CT-X800 from a dedicated music store like Long and McQuade.

Ray Manzarek started on a Wurlitzer then moved to a Vox with a Fender Rhodes Bass piano on top of the Continental. So depending upon which song you want to recreate these are the sounds. That said, it will require a lot of time, effort and practice to get to a good standard, best wishes in achieving your goal.

This thread may also help you understand what is available and the differences.

Reaction score
Thanks for your suggestions and your replies - I really appreciate it. I'm going to purchase the CT-X800.
The Yamaha Reface YC looks really like an amazing organ - something I didn't know existed. Reading the reviews for the Yamaha, you can get amazing organ sounds from classic rock. I'll try the Casio for a few weeks and I can always return it hopefully (from Long & McQuade) if I don't like it.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
This is a much better deal.

It's really not worth it to buy a Casio new unless it's a super deal like Boxing Day 50% off.