Best rig for gigs, for advanced player who's not gear-savvy?

Jon

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a drummer/band leader writing on behalf of our keyboard player, who's an extremely accomplished pianist but has very little experience with electronic gear. She needs a rig for gigs that...
- has a great action, like a real piano
- is very easy to use in terms of selecting (and switching between) sounds quickly
- can split the keyboard into two voices
- can store preset splits (that are quick and easy for the player to select once they're stored)
- has basic sounds: acoustic piano, organ, synth, brass, strings. (Our set list doesn't require a huge palette.)
- isn't tremendously heavy.

I'd be most grateful for any recommendations or advice. I'm not sure of her price tolerance so I'd like to be able to pass along suggestions in several "neighborhoods": ~$250; ~$500; ~$750; ~$1,000; ~$1,500. We're not averse to used gear if it's reliable.

Thanks in advance!

Reaction score
Nord Electro4 HP76 should be available used for under 1500 dollars US. Great pianos,organ,synth is 'static'.....
and no wallwart(+) power supply! Fatar keyboard action,yummy!
Yamaha MOX8/MOXF8 used? less than 1200.Decent pianos,light weight,digital inputs.Many useable sounds.
Korg Krome 88,decent pianos,light,nice 'screen',about 1000 used.
Both the Yammy and Korg use wallwart(-) power supplies, and have GHA piano action(+)...
Summarize, Nord is best built,Yamaha has Motif LE sound engine,Korg has nice user interface.
Wouldn't balk at any of these 'entry level' keys,they have all been around since 2013.
Apologies to those who regard the Electro4 as other than 'entry level',it really is a pro keyboard.
YMMV.

Reaction score
Welcome.

Up to $1000 check out Korg Kross2, Roland Juno DS 88,

Up to $1500 then the Korg Krome, Roland FA 8

Nord keyboards are great these would be my first choice the real beauty of a Nord is that all the prime adjustments are on the keyboard and not buried deep in a menu system