between YAMAHA PSR 213, PSR 313 and PSR 403

Reaction score
hi I'm a beginner want to learn playing piano, but for now I just have smal amount of money that can only buy a cheap keyboard like YAMAHA PSR 213, PSR 313 and PSR 403 wishing that I could use the Grand Piano sound from the keyboard to play classical piano and may be learn play synthetizer. what do you think about that?
or should I save the money for couple month to buy a Digital piano? can you recommend me a cheap digital piano that good for playing classical piano? a Clavinova or Upright Piano is way too expensive for me....

Reaction score
hi I'm a beginner want to learn playing piano, but for now I just have smal amount of money that can only buy a cheap keyboard like YAMAHA PSR 213, PSR 313 and PSR 403 wishing that I could use the Grand Piano sound from the keyboard to play classical piano and may be learn play synthetizer. what do you think about that?

I'm kind of a beginner myself & went through the same thing you are. I wanted to teach myself piano, basic rock & roll stuff for accompanyment. I also wanted to be able to play trancey ambient synth stuff.

I was looking at the Yamaha's you mentioned, they sounded pretty nice at the store! I just couldn't choose the best one because my ambitions were so wide and my experience so narrow. Except unlike you I didn't expect to do serious classical piano, except maybe a few simple Beethoven pieces.

I think the keyboards you mention vary from $99 to $199. I wouldn't advise the cheapest unless you can't afford anything else. I think they sound "cheap" and you would soon outgrow them.

I was going to buy a slightly higher grade Yamaha, I think it was a 403 or maybe a YPG which had 76 keys. If you're into classical, you probably want 76 or even more keys.

I also had aspirations of jamming with band friends, so I didn't think the PSR series of 'home keyboards" with onboard speakers would be adequate. They just wouldn't have the volume.