BIG Question?

Reaction score
I mean, BIG Q for me...

I know this is a common dilemma for most people trying to get into keyboard arena...

Simply put, my question is; Creativity-wise is arrangers a way to go or a workstation style keyboard is more suitable for this purpose?

I am a novice-intermediate keyboard player and my goal as an hobby at home to spend some time to make music of my own. I'll try to create jingles like we hear in the beginning of 5 o'clock news hour on TV in old days or TV series style themes, Enya style songs, Enigma's (sadness) style music and few dance, techno style rhythmic songs like Depecehe Mode or Pet Shop Boys styles... (Yes I know I am old) :(

I don't want to use DAW or any other system by attaching a computer to my keyboard. My budget allows me to have one keyboard not stacked up ten of them like Kebu...
Again I'll be doing this purely my own pleasure and not for commercial purposes.
I need to be able to create my music and easily be able to record on my instrument.

I was looking PSR-SX 700 or 900 and also Roland Fantom 07.... These are in my budget range...
The arranger makes my level keyboard player sound good easily but I feel like (may be wrongfully) Arrangers keeps everything in a pre-formed shapes and within some certain limits while a Fantom 07 like instrument gives creativity almost a blank check. Create any sound you want, any rhythm you design etc., etc.

Am I wrong in this way of thinking?

Reaction score
Allow me to describe my situation as an answer, some guidance rather than an "only way to go".

My aim in music is (roughly) to resume my 1990 recordings of dozens of my own songs. I'm "circling around" (like a bird of prey) to find the best approach, and I have "invested" in quite some gear.

I have received my arranger keyboard (Thomann AK-X1100, slightly lesser version of Medeli AKX10) a few days ago. My first one, but I have used Band-in-a-Box ("BiaB", accompaniment software) since 1995.