Bit of help needed.

Reaction score
Hello,
Ive joined to ask for help! I hope thats not considered rude, but I'm overwhelmed with the choices out there and need advice from keyboard players! I am an absolute keyboard virgin!
I am a pianist, classical and not much else really! I just have an upright piano at the mo. But, I have a love of ska and reggae and really want a keyboard which has a decent piano sound but also has a kind-of hammond organ/theatre organ sound. I have been asked to join a band and need a keyboard asap!
I have a small budget, so second hand would be great, any ideas/advice most welcome.
Ginnie Rich.

Reaction score
I've just been having a read of other questions and someone has mentioned a Roland Fantom has a Hammond sound .. is there a particular model? or any of the Fantoms- I've seen a few! (oh god, i really am rubbish aren't I? ) x

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I searched in the patch lists for some of the Fantom models, but couldn't find "Hammond" mentioned in them, so those patches/presets probably have names that are more generic, such as "60's Org." Anyway, I suspect that any of the Fantom models probably share the same basic sounds (patches/presets) as each other, although they might not have exactly all of the same ones. You can download their patch lists from Roland's web site: http://www.rolandus.com/support/owners_manuals/ (click on "F-G" to see the links for the various Fantom models).

Reaction score
Great.

Now, some more questions if it's OK.

1. Does the action have to be fully weighted or "hammer action", in other words, like a piano - that heavier key feel. Or would you be satisified with a "synth-action" keybed, which is much lighter, the keys offer far less resistance. A weighted action keyboard will generally a) have 88 keys, b) be heavier, c) be more expensive.