Can a regular keyboard become a synth?

Reaction score
Hey folks! My band recently called it quits and, while cleaning out our practice space I came across several fairly generic keyboards (a Casio CA110 and a Yamaha MIE-1, among two others of which I can't remember the make/model). I'm looking to possibly start up some sort of a side project, however I'd really love to have a synthesizer, which neither of these two obviously are. Is there anything I can purchase for a generic, cheap keyboard that would make it into a synth? Something I could maybe plug into the keyboard that would then go to the amp that would give me more sound options, maybe a pitch bend and modulation wheel? I know some piano, but I'm fairly new to the whole keyboard/synth side of things. I just wanna be able to make some crazy sounds, like a Moog or something. Cost isn't a factor, but obviously something fairly inexpensive would be ideal. Any ideas? Thanks!

Reaction score
Hello,

I myself have always been a keyboard workstation type of guy & my Korg Triton can make some decent "outer-space" sounds,but for true performance-synth capabilities that allow for versatility with sound manipulation-you have to specifically go for the stand-alone synthesizers-which are called VA-synths(virtual analogue).

These type of synths are software-based analogue modeling synths that replicate the sounds of the old,classic style analogue synths of the 60's 70's & 80's.

I've been looking for this very type of synthesizer myself & I have done an enormous amount of research on them and I've actually discovered a analogue modeling synth that is incredibly inexpensive-while also have incredible sound quality,infinite sound shaping possiblities and the best part about this synth-is that it is so incredibly easy to use,that it's completely idiot-proof!