Can anyone help me understand the difference between patch and performance in Juno DS?

Reaction score
I just watched some videos on youtube and I thought I did, but I'm finding it a little confusing. Patches are single sounds, right? Performances are a bunch of sounds layered (with different volumes, etc) are patches editable? If so, how's it done? Keep in mind that I'm a newbie in this great instrument.
Thank in advance
20190305_174907.jpg

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I have no personal experience with the JUNO-DS, so my reply is based on information from the Owner's Manual, plus general concepts common to electronic keyboards. This is the "short and sweet" reply. I can post an "OMG, TLDR" reply later if you want. ;)

Patches are single sounds, right?

That's basically right, but it's a simplification. Tones are single sounds, and patches are composed of one to four tones.

Performances are a bunch of sounds layered (with different volumes, etc)

That's not quite right. Performances are a bunch of sounds which can be split, layered, or (I think) used by external controllers.

The key to all of this is "part." You could say that a part is a MIDI channel. That's not technically correct, but it's close enough that it might help you understand. Essentially, a patch defines how the sound for a single part (or MIDI channel) is set up, and a performance defines how the sounds for all 16 parts (or MIDI channels) are set up.

are patches editable? If so, how's it done?

Yes, you can edit patches. The Owner's Manual doesn't really explain how to do this; instead, it refers you to the Parameter Guide (which I haven't looked at yet).

Reaction score
From a playing/performing standpoint, it's simply this:

Patches are single sounds.
Performances are combinations of up to 16 Patches, split and/or layered any way you want.