Can? Create wurlitzer sound on Casio CTK-6200

Reaction score
Hi - I'm new to this and bought a second hand keyboard to learn.
I adore the sound of a wurlitzer with the trembling notes and I wonder what I need to do - ie midi software (Preferably Free - I am a beginner) to create this sound.
I spent hours listening to the Blackpool Wurlitzer and absolutely want to get this sound.
I am clueless about musical terms and would appreciate any pointers how to get this sound.
Thank you
Terry

Reaction score
Welcome.

I have spent many hours in the Tower Ballroom dancing with my Wife to that very instrument.

To replicate the sound on what is a beginner keyboard with the onboard instrument sounds is probably not possible, I am presuming that you have worked through what is available onboard your CTX.

The nearest and least costly option is to connect up to an iPad and run the Casio as a keyboard controller using the sound functions of an App.

The Korg Module Pro App and Galileo 2 will give passible organ tones for not much cash although there are better more realistic Apps, they do cost vastly more.

Reaction score
Casio CTK 7000 series has a much better sound engine than the 6000 series. And if editing the sound perimeters on the Casio, you can get a great sounding piano.

Reaction score
Not familiar with this keyboard but according to the Casio website it has 700 tones. I would be genuinely shocked if there wasn’t at least one Wurli in there - probably half a dozen or so more likely.

Search under any sounds called EP or Reed EP. You should find what you’re after.

Reaction score
The Wurlitzer installed in Blackpool Tower Ballroom is a theatre organ.

92297A9A-CF6A-4B41-9B29-40CED4902FCB.jpeg

On the Casio CT X5000 that I briefly had there was no tone even remotely like it.

Reaction score
Aha! Thanks for correcting me Biggles. "Blackpool Wurlitzer" sounds like a creature from a 1950's sci-fi horror.