Can I use midi to transfer a melody and a played instrument?

Reaction score
I know the title makes no sense but here's my situation, I use a program called LMMS which has terrible presets and samples. I am fairly new to music making so I am not sure how to fix these problems. I recently bought a midi to USB converter to connect my keyboard to the PC. If I connect the keyboard to the PC will I be able to transfer a preset from the keyboard as well as the notes I would be playing?
Here are the links to the midi wire as well as the keyboard:
midi cable: https://amzn.to/2Y8uZ43
keyboard: https://yamaha.io/2ZaZKSd

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
will I be able to transfer a preset from the keyboard

Yes, in a way-- or no, not really-- depending on what you mean exactly.

You can't transfer the sound samples used by the preset and add them to the DAW, but you can use the DAW or other MIDI software to play the connected keyboard as though it were one of the DAW's virtual instruments. You would then record the keyboard's audio output using the DAW

Well, technically you could sample the keyboard's sounds at different velocities and use the samples to create a virtual instrument, so that you can use the keyboard's sounds in the DAW without the keyboard needing to be connected to the computer. But that's tedious, and could require additional software designed for that purpose-- plus, it's borderline illegal depending on what you do with the sampled sounds, because the keyboard's internal sound samples are the property of Yamaha.

In any case, it's far better to just use the keyboard as an external sound module.