Can someone recommend a keyboard?

Reaction score
I've been playing guitar and drums for nearly 18 years but have only been playing my e-piano for 6 months. Nevertheless, I'm switching to guitar and keys in my band and I'll be on stage playing background keyboard parts to several rock covers in 2 or 3 months (or trying to :D ).

After looking around a bit, it's obvious that a Nord Stage 2 would be perfect for my needs... if it didn't cost $4,000. As much as I'd love an instrument worth 100 times my ability to play it, I can't imagine taking such a fine piece of hardware into some of the dumps we play in. I also can't imagine paying for one.

So, what's the cheaper alternative that can produce decent piano, organ and flexible synth? We're covering rock songs from 60's to 90's or so (steppenwolf, pink floyd, rush, ozzy, zebra).

I've walked into several stores, but I have no hope of sorting this out in a store environment. I'm great with technical details, but it takes time to sort all that out. Meanwhile, I can't actually play much yet. I'm alright if I memorize parts and drill them, but looking competent enough to buy a 1,000+ dollar keyboard is not my strong suit.

I'm leaning toward new gear and would like to keep costs between 500 and 1500. I could go with or without weighted keys and speakers. I can definitely appreciate good tone when I can afford it and I would love a very customizable synth (I'm familiar with FM synthesis already and know a bit about chip tunes for what that's worth).

I was looking at Yamaha Motif's and Mini Mo's, and the Roland Juno something, but I'm pretty lost here.

Reaction score
NEW: 88 Weighted keys - Casio PX3

NEW: Kurzweil SP4-7 (aka SP76II) looks like a good bet too

Neither could be called a "very customizable synth."

76 keys Semi weighted (nice feel) - discontinued Juno Stage (I have one). Easy to tweak sounds from the front.

Don't know about the new 61 key Juno Di - may be worth a look.