Can't hear anything out of Cakewalk!?!?!


Joined
Nov 29, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
For the life of me I can't get my MIDI keyboard to play ANY sound on Cakewalk. I can see things are playing when I hit the keys, but literally no sound comes out.

I have tried going to Preferences> changing the output to my MIDI keyboard, and watching tutorials.

The thing is, I HAVE used it before on Cakewalk! But now it just won't connect.

Would anyone be able to offer any advice on what I can do!? Does it have to do with the soundcard?

p.s. Was Cakewalk updated? It looks different than when I used it last time :S

My MIDI keyboard is an Oxygen25, 3rd gen.
 
Ad

Advertisements

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
10,691
Reaction score
4,532
Location
GTA, Canada
What version of Cakewalk are you running?

If it was an old version under Linux I'd say just delete it along with all config files and reinstall from scratch.

If it's the latest free version from Bandlab, then I have to ask if you went for the Basic install or the Advanced?

Nobody except Steven Spielberg needs the advanced version. It can be changed thru the options I believe though.

Have you properly configured the device and instrument menus in the options?

Input AND Output BOTH need to be configured.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
What version of Cakewalk are you running?

If it was an old version under Linux I'd say just delete it along with all config files and reinstall from scratch.

If it's the latest free version from Bandlab, then I have to ask if you went for the Basic install or the Advanced?

Nobody except Steven Spielberg needs the advanced version. It can be changed thru the options I believe though.

Have you properly configured the device and instrument menus in the options?

Input AND Output BOTH need to be configured.

Gary ;)
It says it's the 2021.01 version.

I went Basic.

How do I properly configure the device and/or instruments?

I've gone to 'Edit' then 'Preferences' and made sure my Input was my keyboard, and output was my headphones. Still nothing.
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
10,691
Reaction score
4,532
Location
GTA, Canada
Output is the particular soft synth you are using.

I don't really use the latest version.

My advice is to go to Youtube and look at the official tutorials for Cakewalk by Bandlab.

They explain every necessary step in a series of a dozen tutorials on how to squeeze a sound out cakewalk.

You have videos to watch.

Gary ;)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 29, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Output is the particular soft synth you are using.

I don't really use the latest version.

My advice is to go to Youtube and look at the official tutorials for Cakewalk by Bandlab.

They explain every necessary step in a series of a dozen tutorials on how to squeeze a sound out cakewalk.

You have videos to watch.

Gary ;)
I have, guess I'll just have to troubleshoot it. Very frustrating.

Thanks though~!
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top