CARAVAN

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score
General discussion . . not critical but I wouldn't mind a little advice anyway for prosperity and to enhance my self taught knowledge of music. hehe!

I am playing this piece (see screen shot).
I have got it sounding pretty damn good if I say so myself.

It is in 2:2 timing . . does this mean two beats to the bar? So have a look at the chord in the second bar F#m/C
Does this mean I should play both these chords in that bar say 1 beat of F#7 followed by one beat of C?
Or does mean I have an option of playing either chord?.
What does Ellington and his crew intend here?

On the second screen shot , . . same again Bm7/F

Thank you good people
Ray

Attachments

• IMG_9776.JPG
    IMG_9776.JPG
    88 KB · Views: 400
  • IMG_9777.JPG
    IMG_9777.JPG
    81.3 KB · Views: 384
Reaction score
Gary

2/2 is where it is counted 1 & 2 &, 1 & 2 & etc.

So the quarter notes you are used to in 4/4 timing are half notes in 2/2.

With both the chords you quote the / means you can play either chord.

At least this is my understanding.

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score
I have tried it both ways as I explained.
Sounds okay either chord but sounds so much better half a bar for each chord. I was wondering which way is technically correct.
Ray

Reaction score
Hey Ray,

I'll have a crack mate - let me know if any of my explanations are confusing.

Time Signatures

2/2: The first "2" denotes how many beats in the bar. The second "2" denotes what kind of beats. In this case, it's half notes, or if you prefer, minims. In other examples, 3/4 would be three quarter notes (crotchets), 6/8 would be six eighth notes (quavers).

So what's the difference between 2/2 and 4/4? From a timing perspective, nothing. However the accents are different. In 2/2 tune, you'd hear two distinct accents or beats in a bar, as opposed to four. More or less - it's a little arbitrary.

Chords

F#m7(b5)/C. OK, let's break this down.