Carpal Tunnel Syndrome

Reaction score
I recently started playing keyboards with a rock band and after doing alot of practicing I developed some of carpal tunnel problems. I've read some of the threads that talk about correct posture and I find that helpful.

I'm hoping someone can share some thoughts if they have CTS or have experienced it in the past. What solutions or coping techniques are you using? I'm trying all different things from Vitamins to body alignment exercises, playing a little less and not hitting the keys so hard. I'm only getting a little relief.

I really enjoy playing these days and hoping I can continue. Thanks!

Reaction score
No. I'm mostly playing on my new Roland Juno di. My Yamaha sy-85 has a somewhat semi-weight touch, but It's only a midi right now - hasn't got any internal voices right now. I'm working on fixing it.

Reaction score
You should try some yoga. I do Bikram Yoga and it opened up my wrists and shoulders. I noticed I hit a wall with speed and had some cramping in my hands all the way up to my neck (it's all interconnected). If you use your muscles you have to stretch them.

Reaction score
thanks tstanhope89,

its been a while since I've done yoga and I know it would be beneficial with this. I've taking some b6 vitamins and that seems to help also. I'm also going to do more strenghtening.

Reaction score
Nice, fish oil and glucosamine are good for joint health as well. Yes, alot of pianists develop muscle imbalances because of the way they play. I myself experienced this as my teachers did not teacher me about the proper technique. You might find this link helpful as it talks about the biomechanics of hand and how they should be used when playing. http://www.jazclass.aust.com/piano/default.htm

Reaction score
Ouch! It's definitely a good idea to give your wrist a rest by having regular breaks when you practice. There is also some good advice on NHS Online. I hope you manage to fix it!

Reaction score