Casio Ctk 700 Not turning on


Joined
Feb 25, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Hello everyone! I hope you can help me... I have a Casio Ctk700. I’ve had it for years and it worked perfectly. I even used it yesterday and worked great! But today, I plugged it in and it just won’t turn on. I tried using it with batteries but it won’t work. I opened it but everything looks fine on the inside, nothing is burned, nothing is blown. I checked the jack but it is also giving me signal. Please help me! I don’t know what is going on
 
Ad

Advertisements

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
8,002
Reaction score
3,354
Location
GTA, Canada
It's so old unless you are experienced with electronic repair it won't be worth fixing.

$100 buys you something better, used, on ebay.

Don't waste your time trying to repair it unless you have a full bench of test equipment.

Gary ;)
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
8,002
Reaction score
3,354
Location
GTA, Canada
BTW, you can destroy digital electronics beyond repair with something as simple as a rug shock.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
I understand that, however, I have more than one reason to try and repair it. So I am still hoping someone will help me know what is going on with it. Thank you anyway.
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
8,002
Reaction score
3,354
Location
GTA, Canada
"Not working all of a sudden" and "no burnt components" tells a tech nothing.

If you have no idea how electronics works there are no DIY solutions you could possibly apply.

Even if you took it in to an authorized tech he'd probably tell you it's not worth repairing.

If you really can't live without it then look at Ebay for a replacement.

$50 to $90 USD plus shipping buys you a used replacement.

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=casio ctk 700&_sacat=0

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
As I see you can’t help, I would appreciate it if you would stop replying to this post.

Thank you
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
8,002
Reaction score
3,354
Location
GTA, Canada
Do you own a DVOM and a Logic Probe and a Logic Pulser? Do you know how a bridge rectifier or a transistor works?

What kind of magical help are you expecting?

If you don't think we can help you here you can always ask the same question over at http://casiomusicforums.com and see what they can do for you.

Casio support employees respond to tech questions over there.

They'll tell you exactly the same things I've been telling you.,

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
I did. Thanks.. and apparently it is a common issue in the Casio keyboards. It does have a solution!!

Thank you anyway.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
For anyone who looks at this post.. it appears like it is a common issue.. and it can happen at any time. It doesn’t matter if your keyboard is from twenty years ago or brand new.. it may suddenly stop turning on, and it doesn’t have anything to do with the power supplier or the jacks. Physically everything will seem fine and every signal will show as functioning correctly.

Contact me directly and I’ll give you the rest of info they are giving me.

Some of us do like to help!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
1,731
Reaction score
1,190
Location
Lancashire, UK.
Can you eloborate more about what is and is not working?

You state that you checked the jack, which jack and what did you check it with?
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Can you eloborate more about what is and is not working?

You state that you checked the jack, which jack and what did you check it with?

Of course. Thank you! What I mean is that it doesn’t seem to be getting any current. Like if it wasn’t plugged. Nothing works because it doesn’t turn on. Everything seems to be working fine. I used a digital volt- Ohm Meter to check the signal was arriving to the internal connections. Signal and voltage appears as if it was working. I checked the circuits from the on/off switch with a logic probe but that is fine too. And I even used the adaptor (positive and negative) to get current directly into where the batteries meet the logic card. No response. I see that it has what appears to be a small coil? I was thinking that could be my issue. I am currently asking Casio specialist but they take a while to answer back.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
1,731
Reaction score
1,190
Location
Lancashire, UK.
Have you tried doing a reset?

Disconnect power lead, remove batteries, push and hold the power on switch for 30 seconds, release.

Then connect power lead and see if it powers up.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
1,731
Reaction score
1,190
Location
Lancashire, UK.
I have just done a quick online search and could only find a workshop manual for the 750.

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/1199511/Casio-Ctk-750.html#manual

It does give quite a few test points and what you should se at said test points.

There is a useful Block diagram that could help in narrowing down the problem.

I also looked at an earlier model and it does look as though it is a time consuming task to remove the main circuitboard and as such it could be fairly expensive if you have to take it to a Tech.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
I have just done a quick online search and could only find a workshop manual for the 750.

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/1199511/Casio-Ctk-750.html#manual

It does give quite a few test points and what you should se at said test points.

There is a useful Block diagram that could help in narrowing down the problem.

I also looked at an earlier model and it does look as though it is a time consuming task to remove the main circuitboard and as such it could be fairly expensive if you have to take it to a Tech.
Thank you very much for all your help! I will take a look at it. Maybe I’ll find something...
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
I took it to a tech who will charge me a minimum amount just to see if he can find the issue. I have a lot of love for this keyboard. And I have older and newer models, but I had never experienced this. I know it will probably not be worth the fix, but as I see this is something that happens constantly.. I will try to find a solution.

Again, thank you very much for all your help!!
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top