Changing my keyboard's voice


Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Portugal
Hi, I've got a Yamaha PSR-E313 keyboard and I'm basically totally new to using music software. I've got a MIDI cable and was able to connect my keyboard to a computer and transfer some MIDIs I'd recorded on the keyboard to the PC.

My keyboard has quite a range of voices, but I wanted to get some more voices, or define them myself (like with a synthesizer). The keyboard can't do this, so I was hoping I could connect it to my computer and then have it somehow read the MIDI input from the keyboard, change the voice or whatever and play it. How does a keyboard's voice work internally? And how would I go about controlling how my keyboard sounds through my computer?

Like I said, I have no idea what I'm doing, so please be patient =) If there's any more info you need to know, just ask. Thanks!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
699
Reaction score
164
Location
South Carolina
As you indicate "I have no idea what I'm doing"
I recommend that you check this site for basic info and tutorials on MIDI.
http://www.midi.org/index.php
You need at least a basic understanding for anyone here to try and assist with questions.
Welcome to the forums. Don
 

The Y_man

Moderator
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
984
Reaction score
70
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Petzi,

Easiest way is to connect the midi to the usb of the computer.

You then need a Virtual Synth (your computer becomes the synth - the E313 basically becomes a "remote control".
Install a free "rack" program like Chainer

http://www.xlutop.com/html/chainer.html

then load a (free) VST plug in (just google "Free VST")

You will also need ASIO driver to get rid of any lag

http://www.asio4all.com/

The Y-man
 
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Portugal
Thanks for your replies! I've got a question though, what's a VST plugin and what do they do? Also, it seems there are VST instruments and VST effects...? I guess I should install one of each. From the way you told me to just google it, I imagine it doesn't really matter which ones I choose.

I've connected my keyboard to my computer and installed everything you told me to, but when I run Chainer, choose the driver, MIDI options, etc, after I click one of the arrows on the left of the screen and select "Insert Input", I just get a whole not of noise. What am I supposed to be doing? I get from the little diagrams in the Chainer page that the signal sort of goes through each of the Plugins I choose?
 

The Y_man

Moderator
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
984
Reaction score
70
Location
Melbourne, Australia
VST instrument.

It turns your computer into a Synth. :) I'll see when I can find some time to re-set it up on my laptop and let you know how it is supposed to work.

The Y-man
 
Ad

Advertisements

The Y_man

Moderator
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
984
Reaction score
70
Location
Melbourne, Australia
1.

You need a high speed connector software. I use ASIO4ALL
http://www.asio4all.com/


2.

Then install a "rack program" called CHAINER

http://www.xlutop.com/html/chainer.html



What chainer allows is to "mount" Virtual Synths.



3.

Some sample Virtual Synths

http://www.vst4free.com/



Every VST has a .dll file when you unpack/install them.

Install a few of them.



4.

Start CHAINER (after reboot etc)



Go to SYSTEMS >Settings

Make sure the ASIO4ALL is selected as the ASIO driver

Set MIDI in to USB Device (or somehting similar - make sure your casio is connected and powered on thru the MIDI-USB cable)



Chainer allows loading 10 VST's at any one time.



On the first row, click the inverted triangle at the LH end.

Select load.

Select "File of Type" VST Plug In (*.dll)

Select the .dll file from step 3.


That should do it.... sound should come out of your PC when you press a key on your keyboard.

The Y-man
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top