Church praise band keyboard

Reaction score
I played piano for many years and am now playing keyboard at my church. We play everything from David Crowder which has a lot of the upright piano sounds and organ southern style to Toby Mac and Elevation Worship which uses a lot of layering of many sounds. I think that is right where you have different sounds assigned to different areas on the keyboard where at times they overlap.I am new to this so I want something I cause use easy per say but has realistic sounds. Piano and organ being important as far as sounding real. What are your recommendations? Also any tutorials on function uses I can check out? Our budget is really around 2500.

Reaction score
Many church players have /use Apple "Mainstage" (on an Apple computer) as the platform for using and managing "VST" type patches.
I have Mainstage running on an older Macbook and it an interesting set-up with many capabilities (read that as "requires Apple OS savy and learning to use the software). You should Google "Apple Mainstage" to learn a bit about it. I haven't done anything with my set-up in 2 years and can't begin too answer questions. I can say it is some powerful software when set up with a good computer and solid state drives. It's well worth looking into. YMMV Regards, Don
https://support.apple.com/guide/mainstage/welcome/mac

Reaction score
What type keyboard do you use? Church is fixing to upgrade me and we (meaning I) are test driving a Kurzweil sp6. It is nice and I am loving the features but the piano sounds are not good. Our Church's 19 year old Yahama has better actual keyboard sounds.

Reaction score
I play piano for our church choir - have gone through so many keyboards, many with fantastic patches on everything other than a "real" sounding piano. Finally settled on a good used Casio CTK-7000 that I edited the sound perimeters on. Unfortunately Casio doesn't make this keyboard anymore, and sadly IMO went south when they introduced their CTX line.