Complete Keyboard Player and Easiest Keyboard Collection series

Reaction score
I'm a classically trained pianist, new to keyboard playing and taking my first steps with a Yamaha PSR - E363.

I have bought and borrowed some Kenneth Baker books from his core Complete Keyboard Player Series and some old Trinity keyboard exam books. My latest purchase was "Chart Busters" which is a book from the Easiest Keyboard Collection series.

I was pretty disappointed with the arrangements from the Easiest Keyboard Collection book but have found almost all of the arrangements in the Kenneth Baker books to be spot on.

So my question is .... if I like the core books in the Complete Keyboard Player series will I like the other books that are published in that series like the Musical book and Greatest Hits? Is Kenneth Baker the arranger in the newer, non core books?

Also, what do you think of the Easiest Keyboard Collection series? They have a great range of books but I am reluctant to try another one after my disappointment with my recent purchase.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I'm not familiar with either series, but the name "Easiest Keyboard" does imply that the arrangements are as simplistic as possible. Some of the songs might even be transposed to keys that are easier to play, or some of the chords in the chord progressions might be replaced with simpler versions-- e.g., a basic C chord might be substituted for a C7 chord.

That doesn't necessarily mean such arrangements are worthless, and some keyboardists prefer such simplistic arrangements because they're easier to play. But I'd rather have the more comprehensive arrangements, so I don't have to spend a lot of time trying to transcribe a more accurate arrangement by ear.

Reaction score
Thanks SeaGtGruff ... I see your point. Are there any particular publishers or arranger/composers you can recommend for keyboard music?

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score