CTK-3200 Power Problem

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a AV technician at a school in Scotland.

We have a music room with 20 CTK-3200's. Recently we have an issue with about 7 of them. They will not power on when the AC Adaptor is plugged in, but will power on OK with Batteries.

Has anyone else seen this problem and is there a simple solution to it?

I assume it's something to do with the AC adaptor socket on the PCB and can replace them OK. I'm curious if there might be another solution though.

Thanks in advance for your help

squircle

Reaction score
If you move an AC adapter, from a non-working unit, to a working unit, does that working unit now no longer work? If so, then that particular AC adapter is bad, or if a known good adapter is connected to a non-working keyboard, and it still does not work, then that keyboard is bad. My point is, if the problem is isolated to the adapters, and not to the keyboards, then I would look into how the adapters and their cords are being treated. Wrapping the cords around the adapter body is the number one killer (internal breakage) of adapter cords. It has the effect, over time, of bending a wire back and forth, back and forth, until it finally breaks, but the break is inside the insulation, and is not visible. Many laptop computer power cords suffer the same fate.

If the problem is isolated to the keyboards, here again, I would first investigate how the adapter/keyboard connections are being treated. Are the cords being tripped over, or being pulled from the keyboard by the cord and not by the connector, and damaging the power input jack on the keyboard. I am a member of several forums that handle Casio questions (one is Casio exclusively). This type of question arises occasionally, but pretty much across the board as far as different models are concerned. I have not seen a rise recently in reports of this type, across the board, or for any particular model (eg. the CTK-3200).