CTK-7200 or PSR-E443?

Reaction score
Sorry, it's yet another 'what keyboard should I buy' question. :oops:

I'm a total beginner, 40-ish, no musical experience at all - and out of the blue have decided to learn keyboards. Just for my own amusement, no recording, performing. So I'm after something cheap in case things don't work out, a budget of maybe £300.

I'm into jazz-funk so I'd like something with passable Clavinet, Rhodes, Hammond sounds.

I'm going to self teach - online, DVDs, not 100% sure how exactly at the moment.

I've narrowed my choice to the Casio CTK-7200 or the Yamaha PSR-E443.

The Casio seems like you get more stuff for your money, especially the drawbars, and sounds good. The Yamaha's advantage seems to be the Education Suite. Is the Education Suite worth the compromise? I'll definitely need a right-to-the-very-basics course. I've no particular problem learning the aimed at kids tunes that it looks like the Education Suite covers - but if I'll cover the same skills anyway with a DVD then there's no real value in it.

What would you suggest?

Thank you

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I can't make your decision for you but I will point out that Yamaha keyboards won't connect to Linux computers. Yamaha doesn't use USB MIDI class compliant interfaces.

On the other hand, if you are strictly a Windows/Apple guy then the choices are pretty much equal. What you'll have to do is go to a music store and listen to both in person to see which one feels and sounds the best to you.

No one else can make that decision.

Also to complicate things further, take a look at the Casio WK-7600 or WK-7500 (Same as the CTK with 76 instead of 61 keys).

And while yer at it the XW-P1 is also worth a looksee.

Gary ;)

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score