Desperately need help with transferring MIDI’s to my keyboard. PLEASE help

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I’ve used the word “desperately” because I am at my wits’ end in trying to figure this out, it’s literally been weeks. I’m trying to transfer a MIDI song from my PC to my Casio LK-280 via USB cable. Unfortunately, using a SD card to accomplish this task isn’t an option for me, and the SD card method is the only tutorial that I’m able to find on YouTube and other internet sources. The LK-280 manual isn’t much help either, as it also focuses on the SD card method and provides such little detail/information on the USB cable method. Can someone please explain how this is done via USB cable? I’m not very technically proficient, so if anyone could provide ANY help at all, it will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Reaction score
Welcome.

I will run through the usual process just in case you are unaware of it.

Download the Driver file from Casio’s website, it will reside in the Downloads folder on your PC.

It will probably be a Zip file so find the file, right click on it and select extract.

Extract it to the C drive and create a new folder named Casio where the extracted file should be placed.

Now connect the switched off Keyboard via USB.

Turn the keyboard on and the PC should then give the option of Driver installation, you may need manually to navigate Windows to the Casio folder where it will find the Driver and install it.

Once installed turn off the keyboard and restart the PC, then turn on the keyboard and Windows will then see the keyboard.

Now the next bit is iffy, Windows Explorer / File Manager may then see the keyboards storage as an accessible device. If it does drag and drop the MIDI files to the Casio storage. Do not that even though this may be possible it will still be hit and miss if you can then see the MIDI files in your Casio.

Now.