DGX-660: A key in a style playing wrong...

Reaction score
I have been studying, practicing, watching Youtube vids etc. to learn how to use this keyboard. And of course taking lessons at PGS. I am new to the keyboard and piano.

I am finding that occasionally when I am using a style, one of the keys doesn't work right at first hit. I can replicate the issue, and have it in the linked video below.

The off tone happens at ~ 29 seconds into the 37 second video. Playing Lean on Me. At the bottom of the video, left thumb is hitting C. I put the 30+ seconds there to provide more sound context. You will hear me hitting that C and it sounding fine, but then at the 29 seconds point, it sounds off. I hit it again almost immediately after the off tone, and it sounds fine.

Is anyone else experiencing anything like this? I have experienced it in other playing, but had written it off to my learning curve. I was wondering if I was hitting the wrong key, maybe D or something, so I made this recording to validate that I was not hitting the wrong key.

I plan to call Yamaha support and see if they can give me any thoughts. My first call...I don't know how good their tech support is.

Hope to hear if this is happening to anyone else, of if maybe this is a problem with my keyboard.

Thanks in advance!

Reaction score
I don't know whether this would make the difference, but does the problem occur if, at the start, you let it go around and start the song on the "one" (red flashing LED) as they would normally expect you to? (You started on the "two.") Or instead of having to pay attention to a count-off, I think the keyboard has a sync start feature that just starts up when you start playing. Either way, it's possible that making sure your one is on the one could be a factor in how the board follows your key commands.

Last edited:
Reaction score