Does this keyboard exist?

Reaction score
Hi all, new member here, so as a brief introduction, i've been learning piano/keyboard for almost a year now, my aim was to be able to record my own music. I've been long term in many bands on drums but really wanted to expand my musical range hence the piano.

I started learning on a Yamaha PSR-E333 which has been great, but after getting piano lessons i really decided i wanted that realistic piano feel so have since bought a Yamaha P95 which is fantastic. So ....... my minor dilema..... on my home recordings I'm playing any piano on the P95 and drums on my Roland TD-8. I have been playing "other instruments" on the PRS-E333, but all of this is taking up a lot of room in my house. I've been looking round for a small almost desktop keyboard that can fulfill the "other" instruments role. Obviously there is loads of keyboards/workstations out there which I have been looking at but size is the issue (which is why i've started a new thread). I've been looking at the MicroKorg XL which is the perfect size but my concern is the range of sounds - i.e. its very "dance" orientated, whereas I would prefer "real" instruments.

Of course there is the MIDI route (and there's loads of small MIDI keyboards out there) which I tried using the P95 - it worked, but i ended up with latency problems after multitracking a few instruments. So i'd happily use MIDI if a specific instrument was required, but would rather a range of sounds be available on-board.

I can't seem to find anything as described, a 25-37 keyboard with relatively small footprint with a range of on-board sounds other than the korg range. Any ideas?

Many thanks
Dan

Reaction score