Does this sound right?? tyros 5 76

Reaction score
Hi guys bought a used tyros 5 from a dealer recently. I was playing Edelweiss and then suddenly the notes sounded pretty much the same.

The guys who sold it me say...
You are playing with the Harmony/Echo button on and an unusual mix of volumes between your R1, R2, R3 voices. This is why it sounds like the three notes are the same. If you were to set the volume of each to 100 you would hear the R1 note playing as usual and the R2 and R3 playing the harmony (which in this case is actually the same note). Again this isn't a fault, it's just the way you've set up the keyboard in this instance.

Being a novice I don't know if they're giving me the run-around?

Thanks for any help!
Steve

Attachments

• IMG_0576.JPG
    IMG_0576.JPG
    99.2 KB · Views: 205

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
It could well be, although I couldn't see in the video whether you had the Harmony turned on. You could always use the "factory reset" procedure (or "clear backup," whatever the manual calls it) to clear all of the keyboard's settings and return them to their default values. That usually clears up any weird behavior that's being caused by settings that have been modified.

Reaction score
Hi, Michael, that's an idea. Might lose everything though if I do that. I can't really understand why the settings I had would still make it sound like that. where the notes are indistinguishable. and as I say if I can remember it was ok at first?
Cheers

SeaGtGruff

Reaction score
I thought I could tell some difference in the notes. To me, they sounded a bit like chords (which does suggest that the Harmony function was enabled), and some of the notes in the chords sounded the same or similar but at least one note of the chord (probably the one for the key you were playing) sounded different.