E373 chord fault.

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score
I just started back u3a. Covid lockdown lifted.
I am trying to help Alan who just bought a e373 model. He is a raw beginner. Trying to teach him to play chords with ACMP.
We encountered a problem. When playing a G chord, the keyboard actually plays G7.
D chord plays Dm. Many others are wrong as well.
We tried single finger and fingered. Same problem.
We tried factory reset . . No change.
Any clues to fix?
Thanks
Ray

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
Does it do that all the time, or only on specific styles?

If I'm not mistaken and understand correctly, Yamaha's Style File Format has settings that allow a style maker to limit the types of chords recognized by a style. It might be possible that a given style is internally programmed to play only certain chords. However, I'm no expert on Yamaha's Style File Format, so I might be mistaken.

Is it one of the built-in preset styles, or is it from an external style file? If it's from a style file, you might be able to use a free utility to examine the settings contained in the style file's CASM section to see how they're set.

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score
Thanks Michael.
It is a brand new keyboard. All built in styles selected get same result.
What is the CASM section?
Will I find it in the functions settings?

SeaGtGruff

Reaction score
No, you won't find anything in the Function menu related to the CASM section.

The Yamaha user community isn't certain what "CASM" stands for, but it's the 4-character "chunk ID" for the section of a style file which contains the parameters related to the chords and notes that the different sections of the style are programmed to play.