ez220 - due for an update?

Reaction score
Complete newbie here that had zero'd in on the Yamaha ez220 to start off with (honestly, the lighted key learning technique did it for me!) and in no particular hurry to buy. My only hesitation is that, having been released almost 6 years ago, this seems a bit long in the tooth and overdue for an update (perhaps better iPad connectivity, and/or on board recording capability). Their other "consumer" models seem to have been updated more recently/frequently.

Any opinions on this? Anyone track this sort of thing?

Tx

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I don't think the lighted-keys models have been as popular in the West as they might be in the East, at least judging from the fact that Yamaha has released at least 10 different EZ-J lighted-keys models over the years for the Japanese marketplace, but only 6 (I think) EZ lighted-keys models for the Western marketplace:

EZ-20
EZ-30
EZ-150
EZ-200
EZ-220
EZ-250i

EZ-J14
EZ-J15
EZ-J22
EZ-J23
EZ-J24
EZ-J25
EZ-J53
EZ-J200
EZ-J210
EZ-J220

There's no telling if or when they might release a new lighted-keys model for the Western marketplace.

If you like the lighted-keys learning method, what you might do is use the EZ-220 for learning a song, but buy a newer keyboard-- such as the PSR-E363 or PSR-EW300-- for playing the song after you've learned it.

Reaction score
Thanks for your input (I see that you contribute a LOT around here. Tx!)

Do you happen to know if Yamaha's "Sound Controller" ios app would work with this? It's hard to decipher from their web page - all it says is that the app is compatible with "your connected keyboard" (but no mention of supported models) and mentions a "iUX1" cable - but on the info page for that it says it's discontinued(!)

https://usa.yamaha.com/products/musical_instruments/pianos/apps/sound_controller/index.html

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score