Firmware Problem With Juno DS88


happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,592
Reaction score
3,218
Hi all,

As you all know I own a Juno DS88 that I traded for a DS61 plus cash.

When the DS88 arrived it had firmware 1.06 which I flashed to the latest 2.10

The problem is, this firmware breaks the generic USB Class Compliant Driver built into the board.

On the DS61 I was running 2.00 with no problems.

Here's my dilemma. I would like to downgrade the firmware to 2.00 but Roland has removed it from their website.

Since I am not the original owner Roland won't open a ticket for me so I posted on Rolandclan where someone else has added it to an existing ticket.

Here's what I am asking. If anyone out there has the original file of the DS88 firmware V2.00 could you please msg me for my email address and email it to me so I can downgrade?

This would be a lifesaver as it no longer functions with my Linux machine without this built in driver.

Thanks in advance.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
1,452
Reaction score
1,054
Gary

Sorry about your problem, have you looked in the Roland website in amongst the Legacy items? I hope you can access this but no doubt different countries will see different parts of said website.

I have just looked and found a zip file, its called juno_ds_sys_v106.zip

I have downloaded it and can email it to you if you cannot access the Legacy part of the Roland website.
 
Ad

Advertisements

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,592
Reaction score
3,218
I already have 1.06. I'm afraid I can't revert that far back. I need 2.00

Gary ;)
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,592
Reaction score
3,218
Problem solved.

It required a factory reset on top of a simple reboot.

The directions stated that all that was necessary was a reboot.

All's well that ends well :)

Gary ;)
 

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
1,978
Reaction score
1,538
Problem solved.
I was going to say . . You are not allowed to have technical problems! You are the fixer of problems! We all rely on you!

Now you reminded me of the doctor who had a virus! Doctors do not get sick!

But thank goodness you did not let us down!
Not only do you fix eveyone elses problems . . you even fix your own!

good work (as usual)

Ray:)
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,592
Reaction score
3,218
Heh :) Thanks Ray. Actually I feel a bit sheepish about raising the roof before trying the same advice that I give to everyone else :p

Gary ;)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
1,452
Reaction score
1,054
Glad you are sorted

Does the Juno have the function to Backup the Op System?
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,592
Reaction score
3,218
It backs up the patches and user settings to a thumb drive so I easily restored those after the factory reset.

Either the original owner had some funky settings in there or else it just went berserk after the flash.

Either way I used my backup from the DS61 to restore.

It's playing like it should now.

Happy Happy!!! :D :D :D

Gary ;)
 
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
20
Reaction score
12
This would be a lifesaver as it no longer functions with my Linux machine without this built in driver.
Funny, this is one reason I stopped messing around with Linux years ago. (Driver issues)
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,592
Reaction score
3,218
I've been using Linux as my primary operating system longer than most millennials have been alive.

I'm not switching back to Micro$haft anytime soon :p

Gary ;)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
20
Reaction score
12
I've been using Linux as my primary operating system longer than most millennials have been alive.

I'm not switching back to Micro$haft anytime soon :p

Gary ;)
I don't use Windows either for what it is worth. I just over pay for a fancy GUI on top of a modified BSD Kernel.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top