First keyboard help

Reaction score
Hi i want to buy a keyboard but i can't decide which one. So im no professional at music but i want to learn creating beats and playing piano music. I found some cheap ones and i can't decide which one to choose. If you have same kb can you give your opinions. Also other suggestions. I don't understand what to search for in a keyboard.
The first is Acorn Nektar Masterkeys 49 or 61 - 4 programmable knobs, pitch bender, octave buttons.
Second Alesis 49 - 8 pads, 4 knobs, 4 buttons, pitch and octave.
Third - Nektar GX49
The first thing is do i need more than 49 keys.
For now i think Alesis to be more appealing to me, it also comes with Ableton Live

Last edited:

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score
So im no professional at music but i want to learn creating beats and playing piano music.
Are you starting out a complete novice?
The basics required to learn playing keys from scratch are black and white keys. Any of those keyboards have the basics.
These are cheap beginners models and will get you started.
"Creating beats" . Don't expect to be too creative in the early learning process. These models will be limited in offering choices of rhythms and beats. So take your time first and learn the keys and music generally.
You can upgrade your keyboard to a more advanced model later when you are ready. It may take months or a year but you will feel it when time is right.
Good Luck ray

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
Regarding whether you "need" more than 49 keys, 49 keys are sufficient for playing all the notes on the grand staff plus a few ledger lines above and below without needing to use the octave-shift buttons, so it is-- in my opinion-- the minimum number of keys you should consider for playing with both hands at once.